The art of my left ….

My left arm has already been featured here for the Lewis Carroll quote that resides on my forearm, and the upper part of that arm is a mix of philosophy and music. I have been a fan of KMFDM since I was about 12 years old, and I continue to be because I find their music stimulating both philosophically and rhythmically. I love the mix of industrial, some punk, and some good old grinding metal (creating that ultra heavy beat!), and I especially adore the thought provoking lyrics. I have even had a chance to met and talk philosophy with the lead singer, Sascha “Kapt’n K” Konietzko when they played in Toronto a few years back. So, my upper left is a tribute to both these loves.

KMFDM Godlike Single (1990, Wax Trax Records)

A very Nietzsche-like picture. Der Übermensch ....

Wayne from Tora did both of these tattoos, so kudos to him. My outside left arm design comes from KMFDM’s Godlike single. The picture reminds me of Nietzsche’s Übermensch, one who controls their life and takes on the world (so to speak), but it also for me speaks to what it means to be a philosopher, and an ontologist at that: to take the world in your hand almost like an object of study in the hopes of unlocking its secrets, gaining wisdom and enlightenment.
My Übermensch

My tribute to KMFDM & Nietzsche.

Leave a Reply

